Teacher of the Year

Mississippi Council of Teachers of Mathematics invites its members to nominate from among its membership a Teacher of the Year in each of four categories: Elementary, Middle School/Junior High, High School, and College. Any deserving public or private school teacher, IHL or community college instructor who teaches mathematics and is a member of MCTM is eligible to be nominated for this outstanding award. Postmark deadline for applications is April 13, 2018.

Download Teacher of the Year details and application.


Dr. Clifton Wingard, mathematics professor and department chair at Delta State University, was awarded the 2017 Teacher of the Year for College.


Rebecca Hurst, mathematics teacher at Madison County School District’s Olde Towne Middle School, was awarded the 2017 Teacher of the Year for Middle School.